If you are concerned that someone may be looking at your internet history you may want to take steps to reduce the chances that your browsing history will be traced. Please remember that the below information is not a guarantee that all of your history will be erased.

Use a computer that your abuser does not have access to

If possible, consider using a computer at a location that your abuser does not have access to. Examples are:

  • Use a computer at work
  • Use a friend’s computer
  • Use a computer at a public library
Delete your browsing history

Below are steps for deleting your browsing history in your internet browser. Select the browser that you use:

Internet Explorer 10

Google Chrome

Firefox

Safari

Internet Explorer 10

Use “InPrivate” browsing

When using “InPrivate” browsing, your passwords, search history, and webpage history is deleted when you close the tab.

  • Open Internet Explorer, click on the Tools button, point to Safety, and then click InPrivate Browsing

Delete browsing history

This clears webpage history, any saved passwords, temporary files, and cookies that have been collected as you browse.

  • In Internet Explorer, click on the Tools button, point to Safety, and then click Delete Browsing History.
  • Select the check boxes for the information you want to clear, then click Delete.
Google Chrome

Use “Incognito” (private) browsing

  • Click the Chrome menu Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  • Select New incognito window.
  • A new window will open with the incognito icon in the corner. You can continue browsing as normal in the other window.

You can delete some or all your browsing history from Google Chrome. If you’re signed in to Chrome on multiple computers or devices, deleting your browsing history will take effect on all other devices.

Delete all history

  • Click the Chrome menu Chrome menu on the browser toolbar.
  • Select Tools
  • Select Clear browsing data.
  • In the dialog that appears, select the “Clear browsing history” checkbox.
  • Use the menu at the top to select the amount of data you want to delete. Select beginning of time to clear your entire browsing history.
  • Click Clear browsing data.

The following information is removed when you clear your browsing history:

  • Web addresses you’ve visited, listed on the History page
  • Cached text of pages you’ve visited
  • Snapshots of your most frequently visited pages on the New Tab page
  • Any IP addresses pre-fetched from pages you’ve visited

Delete selective history

  • Click the Chrome menu Chrome menu on the browser toolbar
  • Select History
  • Mouse over the items you’d like to remove
  • Select the checkboxes for the items
  • Click the Remove selected items button at the top of the page
  • Click OK when the confirmation window appears
Firefox

Delete all history

  • At the top of the Firefox window, click the Firefox button, go over to the History menu and select Clear Recent History.
  • Select how much history you want to clear:
    • Click the drop-down menu next to Time range to clear to choose how much of your history Firefox will clear.
    • Next, click the arrow next to Details to select exactly what information will get cleared.
  • Finally, click the Clear Now button and the window will close and the items you’ve selected will be cleared.

Delete selective history

  • At the top of the Firefox window, click the Firefox button, go over to the History menu and select Show All History to open the Library window.
  • Search for the website you want to remove from your history by typing its name in the Search History field in the top-right corner and then pressing Enter.
  • Then, in the search results, right-click on the site you want to remove, and select Forget About This Site.

All history items (browsing and download history, cookies, cache, active logins, passwords, saved form data, exceptions for cookies, images, pop-ups) for that site will be removed.

Safari

Use “Private Browsing”

  • Click on Safari in the main menu on the top left of the screen and select “Private Browsing”.
  • When you see a confirmation message, click OK. A Private button appears in the address field to indicate that private browsing is on.

Private Browsing is always turned off when you open Safari, even if it was on when you last quit Safari.

Delete all history

  • Click on Edit and choose Reset Safari
  • You will get a confirmation screen where you can choose which information to delete or keep
  • Click Reset

Delete selective history

  • Click on Safari in the main menu on the top left of the screen
  • Select History
  • A screen will open with a list called “Last Visited Today” sites
  • Select the sites you want to remove and press the Delete key
  • Close the program